Reformatting Input field in my JCL

IBM's flagship sort product DFSORT for sorting, merging, copying, data manipulation and reporting. Includes ICETOOL and ICEGENER

Reformatting Input field in my JCL

Postby mathew28 » Thu Mar 15, 2012 12:38 am

Hi,

Thanks for checking this.

I have a file in the below format which is ftped.

123456789
123456789
123456789
123456789

It is 9 digit numbers one below the other n number of times each time.

I want to create an input file in the below format,

('123456789',
'123456789',
'123456789',
'123456789' )

The number should be preceded by " ' " and followed by " ' " and ",". The last number should not be followed by " , ".

I tried to use the DFSORT reformatting options but I'm facing errors, I'm not able to do for the symbol " ' " but other symbols "$" worked.

OUTREC FIELDS = (C'$',1,9,C',',12:X)

The output came as

$123456789,
$123456789,
$123456789,
$123456789,

I wanted all the remaining space after "," to be blanks, so gave 12:X. But only the 12th position became blank. What needs to be given to make all remaining space as blank ?

Please help me resolve this issue to create the input file in the required format. Thanks in advance.
mathew28
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Reformatting Input field in my JCL

Postby Frank Yaeger » Thu Mar 15, 2012 1:58 am

The correct syntax for your OUTREC statement would be:

Code: Select all
   OUTREC FIELDS=(C'''',1,9,C''',',80:X)       


Note that you need to use '' (two apostrophes) for ' (one apostrophe). 80:X will pad with blanks to position 80. 12:X would pad with blanks to position 12, whereas 12X would add 12 blanks.

However, that would NOT give you the output you want for the first and last records.

You could use a DFSORT/ICETOOL job like the following to do what you want (be sure to use a MOD data set for //OUT):

Code: Select all
//S1    EXEC  PGM=ICETOOL                                       
//TOOLMSG DD SYSOUT=*                                           
//DFSMSG  DD SYSOUT=*                                           
//IN DD DSN=...  input file (FB/80)
//OUT DD DISP=MOD,DSN=...  output file (FB/80)   
//TOOLIN DD *                                                   
SUBSET FROM(IN) TO(OUT) KEEP INPUT FIRST USING(CTL1)             
SUBSET FROM(IN) TO(OUT) REMOVE INPUT FIRST LAST USING(CTL2)     
SUBSET FROM(IN) TO(OUT) KEEP INPUT LAST USING(CTL3)             
//CTL1CNTL DD *                                                 
   INREC BUILD=(C'(''',1,9,C''',',80:X)                         
//CTL2CNTL DD *                                                 
   INREC BUILD=(C'''',1,9,C''',',80:X)                           
//CTL3CNTL DD *                                                 
   INREC BUILD=(C'''',1,9,C''' )',80:X)           
/*               
Frank Yaeger - DFSORT Development Team (IBM) - yaeger@us.ibm.com
Specialties: JOINKEYS, FINDREP, WHEN=GROUP, ICETOOL, Symbols, Migration
=> DFSORT/MVS is on the Web at http://www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort
User avatar
Frank Yaeger
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:44 pm

Re: Reformatting Input field in my JCL

Postby mathew28 » Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:24 am

Thank you very much Frank. The correct syntax worked perfectly. I was pretty close, I tried OUTREC FIELDS=(C''',1,9,C'',',80:X), with one apostrophe missing.
Now that worked fine.

Also, tried to format the first and last record with ICETOOL with the given code, earlier I had used PGM=SORT.
But I'm getting an abend ABEND SB14. No idea whats wrong !!

Please help.
mathew28
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Reformatting Input field in my JCL

Postby Frank Yaeger » Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am

Also, tried to format the first and last record with ICETOOL with the given code, earlier I had used PGM=SORT.
But I'm getting an abend ABEND SB14. No idea whats wrong !!

Please help.


I don't know what you want help with. You say "earlier I used PGM=SORT", but I don't know what you tried to do with PGM=SORT. If you tried to use ICETOOL via PGM=SORT, then that wouldn't work. You need to use PGM=ICETOOL and the correct JCL for ICETOOL.

ABEND SB14 is a CLOSE problem. Since I don't know what your JCL looks like and you didn't show the JES log, I have nothing to go on to help you figure out what's wrong. You could start by looking up the IEC217I message associated with the SB14 ABEND.
Frank Yaeger - DFSORT Development Team (IBM) - yaeger@us.ibm.com
Specialties: JOINKEYS, FINDREP, WHEN=GROUP, ICETOOL, Symbols, Migration
=> DFSORT/MVS is on the Web at http://www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort
User avatar
Frank Yaeger
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:44 pm

Re: Reformatting Input field in my JCL

Postby steve-myers » Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:12 am

All SB14 ABENDs have something to do with with updating a PDS directory, usually because the JCL specified a member name, as in DSN=dataset(member). Properly speaking, this question should be a new topic in JCL or ABENDS & SQL Codes. As Mr. Yaeger says, this new topic should include the failing JCL statement and the IEC217I message for topic responders to provide assistance. If you look up the IEC217I message in "MVS System Messages, Vol 7 (IEB-IEE)" there is a good chance you can resolve this all by your little self.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1551
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: Reformatting Input field in my JCL

Postby mathew28 » Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:14 pm

Hi,

Thanks Steve and Frank, the issue got resolved. As steve mentioned, I had given the output file as a PDS member and that caused the abend.
When I changed the OUT from a PDS member to a simple FB 80 PS file , it worked perfectly.

Is there a way to be done for a PDS member file with the ICETOOL ? What is the option ?

Thanks
mathew28
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Reformatting Input field in my JCL

Postby steve-myers » Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:51 pm

Mr. Yaeger and I both asked for more information, which you have not provided. A PDS member is basically the same as a sequential dataset; there is no conceptual reason for the sort product to have a problem with using a member of a PDS. Until you cough up the information we have requested no one can help you.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1551
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: Reformatting Input field in my JCL

Postby mathew28 » Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:23 pm

sorry for not providing all the info . Here it is :

My JCL :

Code: Select all
//jobcard
//STEP01   EXEC PGM=ICETOOL                                 
//TOOLMSG DD SYSOUT=*                                       
//DFSMSG  DD SYSOUT=*                                       
//IN   DD DSN=XXX028.TEST.INFILE(INPUT),DISP=SHR           
//OUT  DD DSN=XXX028.TEST.OUTFILE(OUTFIL1),DISP=MOD        <-- Abend SB14 for this PDS member, No abend when DISP = SHR, but output file had only the last line.
//*OUT  DD DSN=XXX028.TEST.OUTFILE1,DISP=MOD                    <--               This is a PS file, It worked fine.
//TOOLIN DD *                                               
SUBSET FROM(IN) TO(OUT) KEEP INPUT FIRST USING(CTL1)       
SUBSET FROM(IN) TO(OUT) REMOVE INPUT FIRST LAST USING(CTL2)
SUBSET FROM(IN) TO(OUT) KEEP INPUT LAST USING(CTL3)         
//CTL1CNTL DD *                                             
   INREC BUILD=(C'(''',1,9,C''',',80:X)                     
//CTL2CNTL DD *                                             
   INREC BUILD=(C'''',1,9,C''',',80:X)                     
//CTL3CNTL DD *                                             
   INREC BUILD=(C'''',1,9,C''' )',80:X)                     
/*     


JES Log:

Code: Select all
ICH70001I XXX028  LAST ACCESS AT 10:39:22 ON THURSDAY, MARCH 15, 2012         
IEC217I B14-04,IGG0201Z,XXX028A,STEP01,OUT,0F05,TSOE06,XXX028.TEST.OUTFILE(OUTFIL1)
IEA995I SYMPTOM DUMP OUTPUT                                                     
SYSTEM COMPLETION CODE=B14  REASON CODE=00000004                               
 TIME=10.40.46  SEQ=55773  CPU=0000  ASID=00A6                                 
 PSW AT TIME OF ERROR  075C1000   80E00F20  ILC 2  INTC 0D                     
   NO ACTIVE MODULE FOUND                                                       
   NAME=UNKNOWN                                                                 
   DATA AT PSW  00E00F1A - 41003038  0A0DB20A  00509808                         
   AR/GR 0: 8EF4B48A/00E01124   1: 00000000/A4B14000                           
         2: 00000000/0000DDE0   3: 00000000/00E010EC                           
         4: 00000000/008B4888   5: 00000000/008B3714                           
         6: 00000000/008B36AC   7: 00000000/008B3718                           
         8: 00000000/008B36D4   9: 00000000/008B4338                           
         A: 00000000/00F9D070   B: 00000000/00E00C52                           
         C: 00000000/008B4338   D: 00000000/7E5BFA28                           
         E: 00000000/00E00C52   F: 00000000/00000004                           
 END OF SYMPTOM DUMP                                                           
IEF472I XXX028A STEP01 - COMPLETION CODE - SYSTEM=B14 USER=0000 REASON=00000004
IEF242I ALLOC. FOR XXX028A STEP01 AT ABEND           


Data Set Name . . . . : XXX028.TEST.OUTFILE

General Data
Management class . . : MGMTDFLT
Storage class . . . : TSO
Volume serial . . . : TSOE06
Device type . . . . : 3390
Data class . . . . . : **None**
Organization . . . : PO
Record format . . . : FB
Record length . . . : 80
Block size . . . . : 27920
1st extent cylinders: 6
Secondary cylinders : 6
Data set name type : PDS


The input and Output PDS files has the same parameters. Hope this information is sufficient. Thanks
mathew28
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Reformatting Input field in my JCL

Postby Robert Sample » Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:35 pm

The B14-04 explanation in the MAC manual tells much:
Return Code Explanation

04
A duplicate name was found in the directory of a partitioned data set. The CLOSE routine attempted to add a member name to the directory using the STOW macro instruction, but a code of 4 was returned, indicating that the member already exists. Specify a different member name, or remove the old member name using the IEHPROGM utility, or specify DISP=OLD on the DD statement.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2752
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Reformatting Input field in my JCL

Postby BillyBoyo » Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:22 pm

Have you checked in the JCL manual or anywhere else about specifying DISP=MOD for a PDS? PDS's "mod" themselves. I have no idea what this will do, as it has never seemed sensible to try it. I wouldn't want to test it on one of my own PDSs either. I suppose if the PDS does not exist, it will create the PDS, but then the member will get in the way, I think.

If a straight PS gets you your result, why do you feel the need to put a PDS there? A member on a PDS is like a sequential file - but the PDS itself, to which the DISPosition processing relates, is not like a sequential file.

If you are desperate to have the data in a member of a PDS, do a copy to the PDS member after you have your output file.
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3137
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am

Next

Return to DFSORT/ICETOOL/ICEGENER

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post