WTO and parameters T / ROUTCDE



High Level Assembler(HLASM) for MVS & VM & VSE

WTO and parameters T / ROUTCDE

Postby michel123 » Tue Apr 19, 2011 9:38 pm

HELLO,

To debug a module assembly, I wanted to use the WTO macro for myself without interfering with the operator. What value then give ROUTCDE?

Also, what is the use of the parameter T?

Thanks.
michel123
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:28 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WTO and parameters T / ROUTCDE

Postby steve-myers » Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:28 pm

See the manual here. Carefully READ the discussion of the ROUTCDE and DESC parameters. There is no combination of parameters that will absolutely prevent a WTO message from appearing on an operator console, but a careful use of ROUTCDE and DESC can route the message to a non-existent console.

In most environments these days, the operators ignore most messages unless the combination of ROUTCDE and DESC force the message to be retained on the console. This you do not want to do,
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: WTO and parameters T / ROUTCDE

Postby michel123 » Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:00 pm

So the combination ROUTCDE = (11), DESC = (7) is a good choice for my tests?
michel123
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:28 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WTO and parameters T / ROUTCDE

Postby prino » Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:23 pm

michel123 wrote:So the combination ROUTCDE = (11), DESC = (7) is a good choice for my tests?

Given the system you are going to use this, I wouldn't worry to much about messages going to the operator. :D

Please post only on one forum...
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
User avatar
prino
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:22 am
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: WTO and parameters T / ROUTCDE

Postby michel123 » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:11 pm

It then noted.

Exuse me but I did not see the connection between the two forums. I was surprised to find only some pseudos, but without the rapprochement.

Thanks.
michel123
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:28 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WTO and parameters T / ROUTCDE

Postby steve-myers » Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:03 am

WTO 'message',ROUTCDE=11,DESC=7 is sometimes called WTP (Write To Programmer), though there is no such macro. If there is no requirement to insert variable data into the message this can be a useful, though very clumsy and inefficient debugging tool. It also damages registers (14, 15, 0 and 1) you might be using for other purposes. In my own code I limit it to writing an error message if the program cannot open the usual message dataset.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: WTO and parameters T / ROUTCDE

Postby steve-myers » Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:19 am

I'll even give you a freebie.
         MACRO
&NAME    WTP   &MSG
&NAME    WTO   &MSG,ROUTCDE=11,DESC=7
         MEND

The generated code can be pretty ugly.
                                     14          WTP   'TEST OF WTP MACRO'
00000E 0700                          17+         CNOP  0,4
000010 4510 C02E            0002E    18+         BAL   1,IHB0004A
000014 0015                          19+         DC    AL2(21)
000016 8000                          20+         DC    B'1000000000000000'
000018 E3C5E2E340D6C640              21+         DC    C'TEST OF WTP MACRO'
000029 0200                          22+         DC    B'0000001000000000'
00002B 0020                          23+         DC    B'0000000000100000'
00002E                               24+IHB0004A DS    0H
00002E 0A23                          25+         SVC   35

It's actually a little uglier, but this board cuts off code lines at 80 bytes, so I can't put all of it here.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: WTO and parameters T / ROUTCDE

Postby michel123 » Thu Apr 21, 2011 9:48 pm

Thank you for the freebie !

In fact, WTO serves me to trace the various blocks of my program to see where I go in case of problem. And to see the contents of the fields and records, rather a SNAP ..
michel123
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:28 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WTO and parameters T / ROUTCDE

Postby steve-myers » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:23 am

michel123 wrote:... In fact, WTO serves me to trace the various blocks of my program to see where I go in case of problem. And to see the contents of the fields and records, rather a SNAP ..

Yes, but you want to build variable data into your message, and that is not so easy.

You're probably better off routing this output to a JES dataset. In a HLL like Cobol it's probably easier, and no one will get angry at you for flooding an operator console with trash.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: WTO and parameters T / ROUTCDE

Postby hibaaryan » Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:50 am

In your macro you define your storage areas X, X1, and X2 as adjacent to each other. Each is a fullword. When you increment the address of X by four bytes, it points to X then points to the location of X1, containing your first square. You increment X1 by four bytes, then it points to the location of X2,

This happens each time through the loop. One way would be to increment by 12 for each. Another way would be to seperate, in the macro definition, X, X1 and X2 so that they are 10 fullwords apart.
Get ccna voice lab for test king and network+ with 100% 9tut ccnp - pass-4-sure guaranteed. Our high quality fcc prepares you well before www.pittstate.edu in the final exams
hibaaryan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Assembler

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post