New to Assembler Programming

High Level Assembler(HLASM) for MVS & VM & VSE

New to Assembler Programming

Postby adurthisridhar » Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:03 pm

Hi,

Now I am working in Mainfranme systems side. I would like to learn the System programming (Assembler). I started reading the IBM redbooks for assembler. But it is very difficult for me to understand some concepts (as I am new to assemblers).

Could any one please suggest me best books for assembler fresher.

Thanks in anticipation.

Thanks,
Sridhar A
adurthisridhar

Re: New to Assembler Programming

Postby Robert Sample » Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:34 pm

System programming actually has little to do with Assembler. System programmers typically can use Assembler, though it is not a requirement these days. Assembler is just a low-level language for the mainframe.

Google is your friend: mvs assembler returns over 3 million hits, including a number of books that can be bought along with web sites that have good examples.
Robert Sample
Global moderator

Postby dick scherrer » Fri Mar 05, 2010 1:10 am

Hello,

Could any one please suggest me best books for assembler fresher.
My personal favorite is an Assembler book written by Kevin McQuillen. It is (the newer edition) available thru http://www.murach.com which contains
http://www.murach.com/books/mbal/index.htm

Good luck :)
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
dick scherrer
Global moderator

Postby David Woolbright » Thu Mar 11, 2010 2:08 am