How to override maxcc of a JCL using REXX



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

How to override maxcc of a JCL using REXX

Postby humiksh11 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:42 pm

Hi,
I have a JCL with 26 steps. I am getting an RC of 08 from most of the STEPS. Which is from a Querrying tool.
My problem is that RC 08 indicates partial report recieved which is fine for me.
Now i am forced to make it <=4 due to objections from production control.
Now i want to get a Maxx-cc <=4 from Job irrespective of its RCs from various steps.
I am not using IDCAMS, so SET MAXCC doesn't work and JOBRC doesn't work as my JES2 in not an updated version.

Please help with shortest and easiest REXX / CLIST that can solve my problem.
humiksh11
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to override maxcc of a JCL using REXX

Postby BillyBoyo » Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:53 pm

If you do not have the new z/OS and JES2, you simply can't do it.

Work with your production control to find a solution which meets the business requirement within their operational standards. This may involve splitting the job into pieces or working out how to not get the 8 from your "querying tool".
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times

Re: How to override maxcc of a JCL using REXX

Postby humiksh11 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:43 pm

Thank you for your response Billyboyo,

I expected REXX to be able to do anything (well almost) with JCL and system :-(
I posted it in REXX/CLIST index as well.....
humiksh11
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to override maxcc of a JCL using REXX

Postby steve-myers » Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:54 pm

Do not post the same topic in multiple places!
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: How to override maxcc of a JCL using REXX

Postby jerryte » Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:43 am

Use a rexx or clist to invoke your program. Then from the rexx you can set any return code you want. Below is a short skeleton
pgm = 'whatever'
parm = 'some parms'
ADDRESS ATTCHMVS pgm parms
SAY rc
exit 4
jerryte
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:38 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to override maxcc of a JCL using REXX

Postby NicC » Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:07 pm

Following on from Jerryte's reply - that is a heck of an overhead whn it has to be applied to 26 job steps. However, you could do all 26 steps under one invocation of Rexx but you would have to do all you file allocations/deallocations in Rexx and you would have to include restart code.
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: How to override maxcc of a JCL using REXX

Postby humiksh11 » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:00 pm

Thank you jerryte,

The skeleton program works good when i tested for a small program.
But i can not make such a big change as replacing JCL with a REXX invoking programm in production.
So, is it possible that i code a 27th STEP with REXX to over-ride MAXCC of Job as whole or to over-write the RC of previous 26 Steps? (if possible at all). Sorry for having such a restricted requirement. But i have no other option :(
humiksh11
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to override maxcc of a JCL using REXX

Postby NicC » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:14 pm

You can only change the RC of the currently executing step. Once the step is finished that return code is set in stone - unless, I guess, you do some fancy assembler work running throgh various control blocks which, I also presume, is what the new JOBRC thingy does.
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: How to override maxcc of a JCL using REXX

Postby humiksh11 » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:35 pm

Hey Nic,

Even for the currently executing STEP, I need to call a Utility that executes REXX which is not possible as it is using a DB2 utility already. As another EXEC makes it another STEP, is it still possible that i can RESET the RC of that STEP?
humiksh11
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to override maxcc of a JCL using REXX

Postby NicC » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:38 pm

As I said before, once a step is finished, as far as we are concerned, the RC is set and cannot be changed.
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Next

Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post